CEM12 and Gender Equality/Youth Participation: Empowering Women as Key Drivers for the Transition towards Low Carbon Economies

June 4, 2021 – June 4, 2021
01:00 pm – 02:15 pm

The current pandemic has highlighted that the energy transition needs to happen much faster in
this decade of action. With the lack of energy access and gaps in employment, women are
usually the hardest hit. However, addressing the gender gap has the opportunity to
tremendously advance this sector.
The event will showcase the CEM’s focus on gender equality and foster intergenerational
dialogue/ exchange on the matter. Ministers, energy professionals, and youth representatives
will be exchanging thoughts and ideas on the importance of equality for the energy sector.
For the first time C3E international and the SDG7 Youth Constituency will work together to
highlight the importance of women and youth in the transition to clean energy. Having
intergenerational dialogue on the matter will provide a fruitful ground for new ideas and
discussions. It will also table the gender aspects and the similarities that can be drawn from
multigenerational perspectives.


Remarks by Ministers:
United States Secretary of Energy Jennifer Granholm
Hon. Seamus O’Regan Jr., Canadian Minister of Natural Resources
Rt. Hon. Anne-Marie Trevelyan, UK Minister for Business, Energy and Clean Growth

SDG7 Youth Constituency:
Cherop Soy
SDG7 Youth Constituency

C3E International:
Annette Hollas
Chair, C3E International


  • Davina Ngei, Communications Manager, Global Women’s, Network for the Energy Transition (GWNET)
  • Norah Magero, Drop Access, Co-Founder and Chief Executive

Career opportunities in clean energy:

  • Mechthild Wörsdörfer, Director, Sustainability, Technology and Outlooks, IEA
  • Sabina Agustina Diaz, Project Manager, HD Fotovoltaica,

Barriers/challenges for young women in clean energy:

  • Loreto Rivera Torteroglio, Stakeholders Manager, RWE Renewables Chile; C3E International Ambassador
  • Cristiana Marchitelli, European Youth Energy Network, Co Founder, Board member